Tag Archives: Weeks Greg

jeanette’s folk book

Jeanetteleechfolk

Jeanette Leech‘s book Seasons they change – the story of acid and psychedelic folk” (Jawbone 2010-11, ISBN 9781906002329) was originally going to have “experimental folk” in its title too, but it’s no less grandiose as it is – with a foreword by Greg Weeks of Espers and all. There’s more info (than on the publisher’s site, typically) via this Coptic Cat link … and for more acknowledgements and links click here (great concept, incidentally). Also, do check the third tab here for an interview with Jeanette. Finally, you can find la Leech’s folk faves here. Here’s some of mine, all culled from two excellent but out of print v/a compilations on the now defunct Sanctuary label: Gather In The Mushrooms (The British Acid Folk Underground 1968-1974)” (Castle CMQCD840, 2004) and Early Morning Hush (Notes From The UK Folk Underground 1969-1976)(Castle CMQCD1265, 2006).

For an expert review of the book (and another major folk resource), see http://www.psychedelicfolk.com/SeasonsTheyChange.html … though I disagree with the minor rant about Fairport Convention & Trees not being psychedelic enough…

Finally, here’s more info on Dave Brooks & “The Family”:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Family_(1974_UK_TV_series)
http://www.catarchive.com/detailPages/740922.html
http://www.screenonline.org.uk/tv/id/444743/
http://newsgroups.derkeiler.com/Archive/Uk/uk.media.tv.misc/2005-09/msg02935.html

Advertisements

espers true to form

Media_httpwwwespersor_revyg

Espers are true to form again … after an okay covers album and a lesser “II”‘, the new album sees Meg Baird & Greg Weeks c.s. constantly equalling their quality debut (s/t, 2003). For fans of Liege And Lief”, Trees, “She looked down“,

http://www.espers.org/
http://myspace.com/espers
http://www.dragcity.com/artists/espers
http://www.amoeba.com/blog/2009/01/all-the-news-that-s-fit-to-sing/greg-weeks-of-espers-and-language-of-stone-records-chats.html

Apart from Espers“Caroline” there’s wonderful songs about ladies with that name by Matching Mole, Velvett Fogg, the Sorrows, the Beach Boys, et j’en passe … And see also the previous post about Alice and Emily ;-).

#1: the back catalogue (aka ISSN 13773828)

[uzine] used to be a music e-zine between 1999 and 2006, run by a threesome and then some (from the mid to end nineties, it was a webzine called ultra – hence the u -, run by (kf) & (hs) a.o. ). The e-zine (now defunct, don’t dream of sending stuff for review) had about 3000 subscribers and even more dedicated readers. We did interviews and reviews and provided the playlists of our radio shows (expect those here later on as well) plus a lot of links, favelists, best of the year overviews, etc. … annexed is the the whole shebang in a 2,6 MB zip featuring txt files and a contents pdf …

Incidentally, everything here is “for demonstration & (internet) conversation purposes”. This here blog will not be making any media files downloadable; such are our settings on this here Posterous platform. If they are presented here, the purpose is to promote artists by providing tangible examples of their art & craft, and to have you, o dear readership, become equally enthusiastic about the art on display, perhaps even tempting you to purchase it legally. As the financial crisis of 2008 has shown, we’re living in a consumer society (and a services economy, and an attention economy, and a spectacle society), so everyone has to be aware of and do what it takes to keep the wheels going (without harming the planet). Also, it is our intent to always provide direct links to artist or label sites, and to the sources we got our information or data from … as well as other relevant and informative links, cf. this site’s subtitle. Conversely (vice versa, mutatis mutandis), we hope to be quoted whenever material of ours is used, including all stuff from the issues of [uzine] contained in this here zip containing our own writings. Do contact us if you have issues or questions …

& feel free to become a fan of this Fb page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/uzine-blog/216710133861

Update: since the switch from Posterous to WordPress, it’s no longer possible to offer a zip. Here’s the contents table instead, and an example issue. When there’s time, we’ll make a separate blogpost of each e-zine.